cff80b484f488d3449b3f24168ec941a.jpg

My sister made me an incredible gift for Christmas half a year ago. She gave me a Kindle.

‘Wait but Why’ Tim Urban’s post on how short life really is (you will only read 300 books (from all the books out there!!!) in your lifetime) and how few books we will read in a lifetime, together with Tim Ferris’ Tools of Titans, which I recently read, gave me a kick to start reading more. I decided to read as much as I could during the week (mostly on my 50 mins to work and home commute).

The goal to read one book a week.

For the past 6 weeks, I’ve been reading at least 1 book a week.

I am not an avid believer in reading every single word, but rather skim reading and focusing on the important parts. This does not mean that I skim read everything, but only some pages, as books really suck me into their world.

For whoever knows me my short term memory and habits, it should not be a surprise either that I take lots and lots of notes (which slightly slows me down in my reading).

I do this…

  1. to really think through the key messages/insights when I read them
  2. to be able to revisit and refer to the key messages at any point
  3. to not forget the great insights from the various books

Here are the books I’ve read over the last 6 weeks and their summaries (in case you’re interested in a short overview):

…and lots more on my book list 🙂

