Meditating Coogee Sydney Headspace 2016.jpg
Meditating at 5.30am – Coogee

Recently I have been setting myself a lot of sports challenges, so I thought I’d mix it up this time.

Randomly, I decided to start meditating.

I got the idea from one of my friends, Ali, who gets up at 4-5am to meditate (she’s one of the crazy people surrounding me). When I heard that I leapt onto the new idea and downloaded Headspace, which I have heard lots of good things about.

Headspace is really good. The guide has a super calm and relaxing voice and slowly eases you into a relaxed state of mind and helps you to shift your focus from your breathing to your mind and back to your body.

I have now meditated 7 days in a row, first thing in the morning at 5.30am with the sunrise on the beach and I absolutely love it. It’s an incredible way to start the day. Instead of rushing into every day life and your head being clogged with all your problems and concerns in life, it’s great to just take the 10 mins to calm the mind down, not think about anything and just start the day on a fresh slate.

We just don’t step back and really think about what is bothering us in life enough. Meditating really has given me a different perspective on every day problems. It has helped me to look at them in the great scheme of things (as sooo many of them just don’t matter, so there is no reason to get worked up about them), as well as to calm my mind during the day as well. When I notice that my head is going 100 miles an hour, just taking a moment to chill, take a step back and reevaluate a problem from a different angle is gold.

